Results: Ocean Art 2019

Best of Show “Courting Devil Ray Ballet” by Duncan Murrell

The 2019 Ocean Art Contest has released its results. The overall winner was Duncan Murrell with an image of 3 devil rays feeding in loops. Congratulations to him and to all the other Wetpixel members among the placings.

Press release

7th Annual Ocean Art Underwater Photo Contest Winners Announced

Culver City, CA – January 15, 2019 – The prestigious Ocean Art Underwater Photo Competition, organized by the Underwater Photography Guide, has announced its 2018 winners. The 7th annual competition attracted a very high caliber of photos from waters around the world and showcases the best underwater photographs of the year. 2018 was the most competitive year to date.

Winning photos can be seen on the Underwater Photography Guide.

The Best of Show is a graceful photo of three Giant Devil Rays performing a “ballet”, which uses soft, ambient light to accentuate the movements of elegant giants, shot by Duncan Murrell. Other exceptional images include some astonishing fish and marine life shots, rarely seen animal behavior, innovative shooting techniques, stunning portraits, seals, ocean adventure, whales and some dramatic moments between humans and marine life. The judges evaluated thousands of entries from 70 countries before selecting the final set of images as Ocean Art winners.

Ocean Art 2018 judges included prestigious underwater photographers Tony Wu, Martin Edge, and Marty Snyderman, accompanied by Underwater Photography Guide publisher Scott Gietler.

Over $80,000 in prizes will be awarded, making the Ocean Art prize value among the highest in the world.

The most lucrative prizes included a luxury liveaboard trip on the Socorro Vortex, Indonesia liveaboard trips (and 50% off a companion) on the S.M.Y. Ondina and M.Y. Oceanic, a 7 night Palau liveaboard trip with Solitude Liveaboards, a 7 nights Solomon Islands liveaboard trip on the Solomon PNG Master, a 7 nights Solomon Islands liveaboard trip with Bilikiki Cruises, a 7 night dive package at Villa Markisa Resort in Bali, Indonesia, a 9 night Passport to Paradise dive package at three Indonesian destinations with Critters@Lembeh and Murex Dive Resorts, and a variety of gift certificates from Bluewater Photo. Premium travel prizes are provided by VoliVoli Beach Resort (Fiji), Siladen Resort & Spa (Indonesia), two packages with Solitude Liveaboards (Komodo, Indonesia, and Lembeh Straits, Indonesia), Atlantis Dive Resort (Philippines), Manta Ray Bay (Micronesia), Spirit of Freedom Liveaboard (Australia), Atmosphere Resort & Spa (Philippines), Aiyanar Dive Resort (Philippines), Crystal Blue Resort (Philippines), Blackbeard’s Cruises (Bahamas), El Galleon Beach Resort (Philippines), Aquamarine Diving and the Watergarden Hotel (Bali, Indonesia), Eco Divers Lembeh (Indonesia), Scuba Club Cozumel (Mexico), and premier scuba travel agency Bluewater Travel. Premium gear prizes are provided by Bluewater Photo, SEA&SEA, Ikelite, and ThinkTANK Photo.

Sixteen different categories ensure a competitive contest for all levels and disciplines of underwater photography, including compact, mirrorless, and DSLR cameras. There is also a new category called “Underwater Art.” The quality of image submissions was incredible this year, making judging very difficult but also proving that these photos are the best in the world. Bluewater Photo and Travel owner and Underwater Photography Guide publisher, Scott Gietler comments, “This year’s outstanding underwater images in the Ocean Art Underwater Photo Competition continue to raise the bar for underwater photographers. Myself and the other 3 judges were honored to be viewing such amazing results of the dedication and drive of the human spirit.”

Complete list of winners:


1st François Baelen

2nd Grant Thomas

3rd Celia Kujala


1st Jeff Milisen

2nd Chun Zhou

3rd Fabio Iardino

Marine Life Behavior

1st Duncan Murrell

2nd Anders Nyberg

3rd François Baelen


1st Claudio Zori

2nd Christina Barringer

3rd Doris Vierkötter


1st Greg Lecoeur

2nd Tyler Schiffman

3rd Claudio Zori


1st Flavio Vailati

2nd Fredrik Ehrenström

3rd Bettina Balnis


1st Edison So

2nd Wayne Jones

3rd Ludovic Galko-Rundgren


1st Yen-Yi Lee

2nd Tobias Friedrich

3rd Alex Lindbloom

Novice dSLR

1st Alvin Cheung

2nd Antonio Pastrana

3rd Marie Charlotte-Ropert

Mirrorless Wide-Angle

1st Eugene Kitsios

2nd Pier Mane

3rd Pier Mane

Mirrorless Macro

1st Steven Walsh

2nd Owen Yen

3rd Younghun Kan

Mirrorless Behavior

1st Fabrice Dudenhofer

2nd Debbie Wallace

3rd Yeh Hung Wei

Compact Wide-Angle

1st Melody Chuang

2nd Andrea Falcomatà

3rd Alessandro Raho

Compact Macro

1st Sejung Jang

2nd Kate Tinson

3rd Matteo Pighi

Compact Marine Life Behavior

1st PT Hirschfield

2nd Miguel Ramirez

3rd Jin Woo Lee

Underwater Art

1st Bruno Van Saen

2nd Jordan Robins

3rd Guillaume Néry